Four Ohio teams reach Sweet 16 making NCAA Tournament history

The state of Ohio has taken over the NCAA Tournament.

Four Ohio teams have advanced to the Sweet 16, the first time that many from one state have reached that point.

The Sweet 16 teams from Ohio are Cincinnati, Ohio University, Ohio State and Xavier.

Ohio State was the first to advance, knocking out Gonzaga Saturday afternoon.

The other three notched wins Sunday.

Ohio is the biggest Cinderella of those remaining, a No. 13 seed that moves on to face North Carolina Friday at 7:47 p.m, after a win against South Florida.

Xavier ended No. 15 seed Lehigh's shocking run and will face No. 3 seed Baylor in Atlanta Friday at 7:15 p.m.

Cincinnati beat Florida State, setting up a matchup with the Buckeyes in Boston. That game is scheduled for Thursday at 9:45 p.m.

All four are aiming to get to New Orleans and the Final Four, which begins Saturday, March 31.

Print this article Back to Top