Ohio passes law requiring drivers to move over for ODOT vehicles, too

COLUMBUS - Ohio drivers who move over for emergency vehicles now must treat ODOT vehicles the same way, thanks to the state's Move Over Law.

Drivers must change lanes or slow down when passing any vehicle with flashing lights on the side of a road.

ODOT said that 19 people died in work zone crashes last year, and in the last five years, nearly 600 ODOT vehicles were struck by a passing car — most who failed to move over.

First-time offenders will be fined $300, second offenses in the same year will draw a $500 fine and every violation in the same year after that will draw a $1,000 fine.

ODOT offers the following tips to avoid fines:

  • Stay alert and give driving your full attention
  • Follow all posted signs and obey flaggers
  • Don’t tailgate or speed; most crashes in work zones are rear-end collisions
  • Expect the unexpected
  • Beware that normal traffic patterns may be shifted

More about Ohio's Move Over Law

Print this article Back to Top

Comments