Cleveland Karamu House to honor nine contributors to performing arts in Hall of Fame ceremony

CLEVELAND - The historic Karamu House will add nine members to its Hall of Fame family on June 14 with an induction ceremony to kick off the centennial celebration.

The 2014 Hall of Fame inductees include:

S. Epatha Merkeson -- National Living Legend

Ivan Dixon -- National Legend

Diane McIntyre -- Fine Arts

A. Grace Lee Mims -- Local Living Legend

Chrisopher Colombi, Jr. -- Local Legend

Lucia Colombi Cosentino -- Local Legend

Margaret Ford Taylor -- Administrator

Leonard Colton Hanna, Jr. -- Benefactor

Kyle Carthens -- Rising Star

Each inductee has excelled in his or her field and made extraordinary contributions in the world of performing arts.

The honorees were originally nominated by the general public and members of them Karamu Alumni Association before final selections were approved by the Karamu Board of Directors.

Festivities will be held at the Silver Grille at the Higbee building and begin at 6 p.m. NewsChannel 5's Leon Bibb will serve as Master of Ceremonies while Cleveland Mayor Frank Jackson will serve as the event's Honorary Chairman.

Karamu House, Swahili for "a place of joyful gathering," was founded in 1915 and is listed in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places . During its nearly 100-year history, Karamu has cultivated an international reputation as a training ground for African-American and other artists and performers.

Print this article Back to Top