NewsChannel5, win 5 honors at Ohio's Best Journalism 2014 Awards

CLEVELAND - The Ohio Society of Professional Journalists released its list of Ohio’s Best Journalism 2014 Winners and WEWS/NewsChannel5 has taken five honors.

NewsChannel5’s website was recognized for Best Web Site for television and Best News Story in the online category for its coverage of the TJ Lane sentencing in March of 2013 .

NewsChannel5 investigative reporter Ron Regan, Executive Producer Mel Watson and photo editor Rob Gardner won first place for investigative reporting , and second place for criminal justice and documentary coverage., which debuted in 1998, was the first television station website in northeast Ohio.’s staff includes Director of New Media Colleen Seitz, web producers Nikki Ferrell, Megan Shaw, Chris Horne and social media specialist Faith Boone. Make sure to follow the latest news by downloading the newsnet5 app .

Nearly 300 awards were chosen from 570 entries submitted in the 2014 Ohio’s Best Journalism Competition , presented collaboratively by the Society of Professional Journalists’ chapters in Cincinnati, Columbus and Cleveland.

Entries were for work done in 2013, and were judged by out-of-state SPJ chapters.

Ohio’s Best Journalism is the only Ohio competition that honors journalists who fulfill the SPJ mission: defense of the First Amendment, support of literacy, resistance to censorship, advocacy for openness of public records and meetings, media self-criticism and community service.

The listing of award winners will be posted at . The awards ceremony will be held in Cleveland in October.

The statewide competition honors the best of Ohio’s print, broadcast, online, trade and college journalism.

Print this article Back to Top